Nagorno-Karabakh: 18 years under flawed ceasefire agreement

May 12, 2012 | 08:24

Shushi, Nagorno Karabagh 18 yearsMay 12 marks the 18th anniversary of signing the Ceasefire Agreement on the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict. The agreement was signed on a tree-sided format: on May 12, 1994, the chiefs of MODs of Nagorno-Karabakh, Armenia and Azerbaijan signed a permanent cease-fire mediated by Russia.

The infinite nature of the ceasefire was confirmed by the same officials on July 27, 1994. According to the agreement, the parties undertake to respect the ceasefire until the conclusion of the Agreement on the Cessation of Armed Conflict. However, Azerbaijan continues to periodically violate the agreement.

From the beginning of this year Azerbaijan has violated the ceasefire 4,600 times. The results are 5 killed and 7 injured Armenian soldiers. From year to year Azerbaijan more frequently violates the cease-fire. If in 2006 Azerbaijan violated the ceasefire 600 times, in 2007 it was 1,400 times, in 2008 – 3,500 times, in 2009 – 4,600 times, in 2011 – 7,200 times, in 2011 – 12,600 times.


News from Armenia –

Deja un comentario

Tu dirección de correo electrónico no será publicada. Los campos obligatorios están marcados con *

− cuatro = 4